Out & About

Wedding Expo 2017

Cape Town recently had the privilege of the Wedding Expo in our neighbourhood. Since my mother has set her wedding date for this year I thought it would help for us to go visit the expo and find some ideas and vendors.

I got engaged 2 years ago, but my Fiance and I agreed not to rush a wedding so we haven’t done much planning. Well, that is until I took him with to expo as well.

Leaving the expo I had so much info in my head and so many ideas that in the week that followed I have now got a pretty good outline of my own wedding planned out in my head. All we dont have is thew perfect venue… Oh, and the date.

So what did we find at the Wedding expo?

There was an abundance of photographers/ videographers and venues alike. You really had to stop and talk to each one, and thankfully each person was more than willing to explain what they had to offer, and in the end each bride has different needs and will find the one that fits her needs. There were however some stalls that really caught my personal eye.

IMG-20170611-WA0009

We met Renchia from Taylored Treats and she gave us cake!! Hers was also one of the cakes displayed in the cake challenge. We had to vote for just one, but they were all so amazing.

Selfie Box was the first to hook me in. A portable instant photobooth, where your friends can take awesome photos home as souvenirs and thank you gifts. The lovely lady at the expo let us try it out and so we got our own photo printed out. It’s a quick, fun and sweet way to remember any day.

20170611_101407

I managed to win tickets from Unbreakable man, and so I made sure to visit their stall, and was very glad I did! My fiance was quite sure as soon as he saw their ring collection that they were right for him, he even found one he really likes. They also have cuff links that caught his eye. Their product really did make an awesome impression.

20170611_121456

We found Fizzeco Bubbly on Tap – so you can literally have the champagne flowing all throughout your wedding. And no bottles to have to clean up afterwards.

I really loved the idea of lawn games, and the prices from MR and MRS M did not call for me to sell any body parts.

IMG_20170611_142915_466

I also won tickets from Glamour Magazine (I know, Im a bit of a competition enthusiast) and they had a competition running at their stall, so we went and took selfies. They also were running a special on their subscription that I could not resist! For just R120 I got a 6 month subscription PLUS a little make up bag with shimmering eye shadow, nail polish, eye liner and other essentials. I got so excited with the special that I got my mom one too.

20170611_154817

I have been following Pink Book on Facebook for a while now, and it was lovely getting to meet the ladies behind the genius idea. We even got to walk away with our very own Little Pink Books which I’m sure are going to come in handy!

The guys managed to find the one and only beer stall. This was craft beer with personalised labels, so you can put your photos, names or just initials and wedding date on each bottle of beer.

Then we found a lovely surprise! Theodore Key  were doing caricature sketches for absolutely free. So of course we had to take a seat and have ourselves sketched. The portrait is such a fun way to bring home a memory and I love the idea of having them to sketch our wedding guests.

20170611_155015

The most exciting part for me personally is meeting Rose Molteno from Molteno Creations. I have had an idea of dress style in my head since I realized that I would actually have to dress up for my wedding – I love my jeans – and I haven’t really seen my dress style in any bridal shops or websites. Until I found Molteno Creations stall. Rose makes and designs the dresses herself and they are exactly the style I am looking for – simple, lace, delicate. No puffy ball gown for me. Awesomely, thanks to meeting her at the Wedding Expo I will be lucky enough to have a fitting with her soon for free! Lucky me. Soon I can check dress of the Wedding to do list.

There were also so many competitions that we could take part in and interact with all the different vendors.

20170611_123958

All in all the Expo was very worth the visit. There are a few vendors that could have been added to complete the setting, but there was enough to help start the planning of any type of wedding.

 

Leave a Reply

